Disaster Prep & Recovery

Watch the Hurricane Recovery 101 Training video HERE

  • Complete the Disaster Preparedness and Response brief survey
  • Worship in Times of Public Health Concerns – When anxiety is high in our culture, worship continues to be a primary location for the proclamation both of the good news of Jesus Christ and of the continuing compassion and care of God in the midst of our humanity. It is a place where we can find solace and reassurance in the midst of our fears. Great care should be taken to continue this central ministry of the church, especially in these times. Congregations are advised to use common sense and intentional action with regard to preventing the spread of pathogens while continuing to gather around the means of grace.
  • Congregational Planning Checklist for a Pandemic – This is a supplement for you and your congregation on how to plan for the impact of a pandemic in your church. A pandemic is something many of us have not experienced. Our goal at Lutheran Disaster Response is not to prepare you completely for a pandemic outbreak, but to give you a handle on what might occur and how to keep your congregation running if such a disaster occurs.


For the most current updates, please connect with us on social media:

Donations are also accepted for our Synod’s Disaster Fund. This is an ongoing fund to support disaster response and recovery in and around our synod.

Emergency Management Coordinators for Counties in Texas

  • State of Texas Governor’s Division Emergency Management:
      • Chief Nim Kid 512.424.2208 website
      • Region 2 State Coordinator Shaun Miller 281.517.1353 
      • Region 6 State Coordinator Jay Hall 281.531.4336 
  • Brazoria County: Steve Rosa 979.864.1801 website
  • City of Houston: George T. Buenik 713.837.0311 website
  • Fayette County: Janet Carrigan 979.968.6469 website
  • Fort Bend County: Jeff Braun 281.342.6185 website
  • Galveston County: Mark Henry 281.309.5002 website
  • Harris County: Mark Sloan 713.881.3100 website
  • Jefferson County: Michael White 409.835.8757 website
  • Montgomery County: Darren Hess 936.523.3901 website
  • Washington County: Bryan Ruemke 979.353.7683 website

Emergency Management Coordinators for Parishes in Louisiana


  • State of Louisiana Governor’s Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness: Executive Director James Waskom 225.925.7500 website
  • Calcasieu Parish (Lake Charles): Dick Gremillion 337.721.3800 website
  • East Baton Rouge Parish (Baton Rouge): Clay Rives 225.389.2100 website
  • Jefferson Parish (Kenner, Marrero, Metarie): Joseph Valiente 504.349.5360 website
  • Lafayette Parish (Lafayette): Craig Stansbury 337.291.5075 website
  • Orleans Parish (New Orleans): Collin Arnold 504.658.8700 website
  • St. Bernard Parish (Chalmette): John Rahaim 504.278.4268 website
  • St. John the Baptist Parish (La Place): Travis Perriloux 985.652.2222 website
  • St. Tammany Parish (Mandeville, Slidell):Dexter Accardo 985.898.2359 website



For surely I know the plans I have for you, says the LORD, plans for your welfare and not for harm, to give you a future with hope.

~ Jeremiah 29:11