Candidacy Committee Contact Info

The Candidacy Committee guides people through the candidacy process toward rostered service in the ELCA, through ordination into Word and Sacrament or consecration into Word and Service.

Topics addressed by the Candidacy Committee include:

  • Help candidates more clearly discern their own vocational call and understand the needs of the wider church
  • Provide modest financial assistance to our synod’s candidates, based primarily on financial need
  • Support candidates as they go through training for their particular roster
  • Annual candidacy retreat
  • Guidance through the formal candidacy process, which includes committee decisions for entrance, endorsement and approval
  • To the best of their ability, seek commitment that candidates will live according to the ELCA “Visions and Expectations for Rostered Leaders”
  • The TEEM (Theological Education in Emerging Ministries) process for special candidates in very unique emerging ministry settings

Candidacy Committee Members

Rev. Kathy Haueisen, Chair

Dr. Stephen Blackmore
Rev. Dr.
Don Carlson
Rev. James Giannantonio
Rev. Erbey Gonzales
Beth Hartfiel, Deacon
Karen Hazlaris-Hallstrom
Rev. Adriana Johnson-Rivas
Rev. Marcia Kifer
Rev. Blair Lundborg
Dr. David Neubauer
Rev. Herb Palmer
Rev. Michael Rinehart, Bishop (ex oficio)
Rev. Liz Stein
Rev. Rodwell Thom
Diane White